Welcome to the nuBuilder forums!

Please register and login to view forums and other content only available to registered users.

Complex Product Code

Post Reply
ruiascensao
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 2:24 pm

Complex Product Code

Unread post by ruiascensao »

Hi,

I'm trying to build a warehouse aplication. One product is identified by two codes from diferente tables:
Example: 00123 345

00123 is the palet number
345 is a unit in the palet

How can I do this using the auto increment?

Thank You!

Best Regards,
Rui
BR
Rui
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2781
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 2:23 am
nuBuilder Version: 4.5
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Complex Product Code

Unread post by admin »

Rui,

The simple answer is don't use auto-increment.

Why do you want to?

Steven
ruiascensao
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 2:24 pm

Re: Complex Product Code

Unread post by ruiascensao »

Hi Steven,

If I don't use auto-increment.
How can I do this?
In the image attached I send you one example:
1 - Wharehouse code
10 - Customer Code
0000101 - Pallet code
122 - Unit code (unit that is in the pallet )

So for diferent wharehouses I can have the same pallet number and unit number.
But the Job Number it is always diferent.

Any ideia?
Regards,
Rui
Attachments
product.JPG
product.JPG (3.74 KiB) Viewed 6250 times
BR
Rui
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2781
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 2:23 am
nuBuilder Version: 4.5
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Complex Product Code

Unread post by admin »

Whenever you use and auto-increment field it must be the primary key
Don't use auto-increment primary keys http://nubuilder.blogspot.com.au/2010/0 ... -keys.html



If you go to our current demo http://demo.nubuilder.com/db/samplenufinancial/ you will see how we create invoice numbers (go to Invoices).

If you go to the properties of Invoice Number..

In SQL Run Before Display You will see..

Code: Select all

INSERT INTO next_number SET nxn_key = '#TT#'

Then on the Text Tab
Default Value SQL you will see..

Code: Select all

SELECT next_number_id FROM next_number WHERE nxn_key = '#TT#'
All this uses a table created like this..

Code: Select all

CREATE TABLE IF NOT EXISTS `next_number` (`next_number_id` int(11) NOT NULL AUTO_INCREMENT,
`nxn_key` varchar(255) NOT NULL DEFAULT '',
PRIMARY KEY (`next_number_id`));
This is the only time we use auto-increment (in a separate table) just to
generate a sequential number.

I hope this makes sense.

Steven
ruiascensao
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 2:24 pm

Re: Complex Product Code

Unread post by ruiascensao »

Hi Steven,

Thank you!
I see now how to use that code!
But I don't now how to use it to solve my problem.
Can you help me?

Best Regards,
Rui
BR
Rui
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2781
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 2:23 am
nuBuilder Version: 4.5
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Complex Product Code

Unread post by admin »

Rui,

Don't rely on a Primary Key to be your job number.

Create another field and use that to hold a job jumber.

And apply the code for generating a new number to that field.

If that still doesn't help, then I don't understand what your problem is.

Steven
ruiascensao
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 2:24 pm

Re: Complex Product Code

Unread post by ruiascensao »

Hi Steven,

It helps! But following the example how can have:
Job Number: 1 10 0000101 122 and Job Number : 2 11 0000101 122
1 - Wharehouse code
10 - Customer Code
0000101 - Pallet code
122 - Unit code (unit that is in the pallet )

With your help now I know how to create the warehouse code / Customer Code / Pallet Code / Unit Code using tables.

The problem is ... how can I have the same Pallet Code in two diferente wharehouses (but the pallets are not the same)?

Thank You!

Best Regards,
Rui
BR
Rui
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2781
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 2:23 am
nuBuilder Version: 4.5
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Complex Product Code

Unread post by admin »

Rui,

That's like saying how can there be a person called "Bob" in 2 different countries, when they are not the same person.

I don't understand why that is a problem.

If you have to need to search for something sometimes you need to filter on more than one field.

eg.

Name AND Country

Pallet AND Warehouse.

Steven
ruiascensao
Posts: 177
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2011 2:24 pm

Re: Complex Product Code

Unread post by ruiascensao »

Hi Steven,

The problem is that I don't now how to do it.

Can you please help me?

Best Regards,
Rui
BR
Rui
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2781
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 2:23 am
nuBuilder Version: 4.5
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Complex Product Code

Unread post by admin »

Rui,

I take it you know how to add fields like

Name AND Country AND Pallet AND Warehouse.

to an Edit Form.

So just add them to the Browse Form as well and you'll be able to find any record you need by typing what you are looking for in the Browse's Search Field.

1:10 into this tutorial you will be shown how to filter records. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1B-xz4Bf ... ure=relmfu

Steven
Post Reply