Page 1 of 2

button on index page in nuBuilder 2.8

Posted: Wed Dec 12, 2012 7:56 pm
by massiws
Hi, I upgrade one of mine project to nuBuilder 2.8, to see the draggable object.
Let me say this is a amazing feature! :D


I just want to alert on some little problem encountered during upgrade:
  • there is a string "`samplenufinancial`." to remove from the SQLs in ChangeLog;
  • button objects on index page can't be positioned with Button Top and Button Left coordinates: are these fields been removed?
  • [attachment=0]buttons.png[/attachment]
  • In my project I have 3 tabs on Index page and before upgrade tab2 and tab3 buttons have a top and left coordinates: now they are rendered on a unique line: how can I solve this?
Tab1 (Setup)
Tab1 (Setup)
setup.png (33.78 KiB) Viewed 3821 times
Tab2
Tab2
tab1.png (17.93 KiB) Viewed 3821 times
Tab3
Tab3
tab2.png (16.77 KiB) Viewed 3821 times

Thanks for your hard work!

Re: button on index page in nuBuilder 2.8

Posted: Wed Dec 12, 2012 10:11 pm
by admin
massiws,

I've fixed the "samplenufinancial" problem, thanks for letting me know.

I posted a youtube video of how to use draggable objects, hopefully it answers your questions..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WCFPPZfqvC0

There is also some answers in the wiki..

http://wiki.nubuilder.com/tiki-index.ph ... m_ver_2_8_

and look at for the Orange Oval here..

http://wiki.nubuilder.com/tiki-index.ph ... structure=

Steven

Re: button on index page in nuBuilder 2.8

Posted: Thu Dec 13, 2012 12:50 pm
by massiws
Steven,

I've hear the video tutorial and read the wiki, but I think there is a problem with button objects.

1) In Setup > Objects > Button tab the Button Top and Button Left coordinates are removed, but button objects on index page can't be positioned using the new draggable interface: is it true?
2) Button objects placed on index page don't follow the old Column Number and Order Number specifications (you may insert a new button object on index page to view how it's rendered);
3) The orange oval don't work for button object;
4) How can I position my custom button objects on index page? The only way I thought is to build a custom form where to place all buttons...
5) Let me know if I can make some tests.

Thank you,
Max

Re: button on index page in nuBuilder 2.8

Posted: Fri Dec 14, 2012 1:23 am
by pickle_jimmy
Hi Max,

Steve is away for a couple of days, and asked me to let you know that he will get straight on to the points you raise when he returns.

We value our users, you help nuBuilder get better. Thank you for your support.

Regards

Pickle Jimmy

Re: button on index page in nuBuilder 2.8

Posted: Mon Dec 17, 2012 5:22 am
by admin
massiws,

There are 3 Object Types that this wont work for File and Button Objects won't respond to double clicking but can be set to draggable by manually editing their left and top coordinates.

And the HTML Object is not draggable at all which allows for move flexible ways that it can be used

(this is in the wiki)

But it still didn't work on the Index Form.

Here's a fix that will be in the next build.
form.zip
(23.43 KiB) Downloaded 228 times
Steven

Re: button on index page in nuBuilder 2.8

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2012 12:41 am
by massiws
Steven,

thanks for reply.
I applied your patch and now buttons on index page are draggable by specifiying left and top coordinates.

However, I add a button object on index page:
New object on index page
New object on index page
obj1.png (31.84 KiB) Viewed 3765 times
Here is how it's rendered in nuBuilder 2.7.4.9:
New button object on index page in nuBuilder 2.7.4.9
New button object on index page in nuBuilder 2.7.4.9
nb2749.png (155.05 KiB) Viewed 3765 times
and here is how it's rendered in nuBuilder 2.8:
New button object on index page in nuBuilder 2.8
New button object on index page in nuBuilder 2.8
nb28.png (153.28 KiB) Viewed 3765 times
td elements marked with number 1 in above images are strings

Code: Select all

<td class="selected"></td>
that are rendered different in nuBuilder v2.7.4.9 and v.2.8 (maybe could be deleted?).


Also, I add other tabs to index page, with some buttons to open my forms.
These buttons had a NULL value (or a number greater than zero, if they had absolute position) in sob_button_top and sob_button_left.
Now nuBuilder v2.8 don't work with absolute positioning, but to make nuBuilder render them correctly, I have to set sob_button_top=zero in database.
Maybe should be necessary modify line 1782 in form.php:

Code: Select all

old line:
//   if($this->parentType      == 'form' and $this->objectProperty['sob_button_top']=='0'){ //--not a subform

new line:
    if($this->parentType      == 'form' and ($this->objectProperty['sob_button_top']=='0' || is_null($this->objectProperty['sob_button_top']))){ //--not a subform

Thanks again for all your job,
Max

Re: button on index page in nuBuilder 2.8

Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2012 4:07 am
by admin
Max,

Your fix has been applied to the latest build 2.8.1

Thanks for your help

Steven

Re: button on index page in nuBuilder 2.8

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 4:08 pm
by massiws
Steven,

sorry for delay.
Now objects are draggable also on index page, but there is another little bug.

I have many tabs on index page, each with buttons to open forms (see previous attachments on this 3d).
I have a table, common to all tabs, that I want to open from each tab; so I clone the button object for that form and put a clone on each tab.

So I have, for example, button xx on tab1 (Tab Number 1000), button yy on tab2 (Tab Number 2000), button zz on tab3 (Tab Number 3000), etc.

If I try to position these button objects using the new feature in v2.8, only button on first tab (Tab Number 1000, in the example) can be positioned.
I open the correct object in Setup > Objects, but nuBuilder apply the draggable feature always on button on the first tab.

I hope I have well explained the situation.

Max

Re: button on index page in nuBuilder 2.8

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 6:53 pm
by martbarr
Max,

Have you tried making the fieldname different for each button?

Martin

Re: button on index page in nuBuilder 2.8

Posted: Tue Jan 22, 2013 7:14 pm
by massiws
Martin,

I believed that Field Name field was the name of the form to open! :oops:
Change the value fix the problem. :D

Thank you very much.
Max