Welcome to the nuBuilder forums!

Please register and login to view forums and other content only available to registered users.

How to have a lookup in browse mode?

Locked
EcoReality
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:50 am
Location: Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

How to have a lookup in browse mode?

Unread post by EcoReality »

Is it possible to have a column in Browse Mode be a lookup?

I tried putting this in the Display column named `Interviewer`, but it barfed at me.

Code: Select all

SELECT Display_name FROM Interviewers WHERE ID = Interviewer
In looking at the generated SQL, it is apparently trying to FORMAT that column, thinking it is still a number. Hmmm... could it be as simple as de-selecting the format dropdown... ? Will try...
:::: Jan Steinman EcoReality Co-op ::::
EcoReality
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:50 am
Location: Salt Spring Island, British Columbia, Canada
Contact:

Re: How to have a lookup in browse mode?

Unread post by EcoReality »

Okay, need to parenthesize the whole thing and use a table alias to distinguish field names.

Code: Select all

(SELECT ii.Display_name FROM Interviewers ii WHERE ii.ID = Interviewer)
:::: Jan Steinman EcoReality Co-op ::::
admin
Site Admin
Posts: 2781
Joined: Mon Jun 15, 2009 2:23 am
nuBuilder Version: 4.5
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: How to have a lookup in browse mode?

Unread post by admin »

.
Locked