Welcome to the nuBuilder forums!

Please register and login to view forums and other content only available to registered users.

Navigating from a subform row to the associated record

cpenton

Navigating from a subform row to the associated record

Unread post by cpenton »

Hi,

I'm new to nuBuilderpro and have been struggling with the placement of a button on a subform grid to navigate to the associated record form.

The database structure I have is:
table_1 -(1)--(M)-> table_2 -(1)--(M)-> table_3

My first form shows table_1 records with a subform from table_2. I want to add a button to the table_2 subform to navigate to a form that shows records from table_2 with a subform from table_3. The individual forms work as expected.

When I place a button on the table_2 subform it appears that the "#SUBFORM_RECORD_ID#" hash variable is not expanded in the "Record ID" field of the button. I have a "display" column that does expand the hash variable correctly and will display the count of the associated records in table_3. If I hardcode the record id of one of the sub records then the button works as expected, but every row gives the same sub records.

I've also noticed that the title of the button is only placed on the first button in the subform.

Is there a better way to achieve what I want?

Thanks,

Cliff
admin
Site Admin
nuBuilder Version: 4.5

Re: Navigating from a subform row to the associated record

Unread post by admin »

Cliff,

I know this has been asked a few times, have you looked though the forum for answers?

Steven
cpenton

Unread post by cpenton »

Hi Steven,

Thanks for the nudge to look for an answer in the forum. I was only able to find a single thread that addressed what I was looking for:
http://forums.nubuilder.cloud/viewtopic.php?f=13&t=8521

However, when I tried this approach with my application it didn't work. Both nuRowPrefix(this) and nuRowNumber(this) returned undefined.